16:10 05 Jul 2022

Ukrainian scientist won prestigious mathematical award

Ukrainian scientist Maryna Viazovska became one of the laureates of the most prestigious mathematical award — the Fields Prize (Fields Medal)

It was reported by the International Mathematical Union.

As noted in the union, she became the second woman in history to receive this award.

It should be recalled that the Fields medal is often referred to as the "Nobel Prize in Mathematics."

It is awarded once every four years for achievements in mathematics to specialists under the age of 40.

They note that a total of four mathematicians received the award.

As reported in the Mathematical Union, the Ukrainian received an award for solving the problem of packing balls in eight-dimensional space. It has been known since the 16th century, and Kepler and Newton tried to solve it back then.

Initially, the task was related to the need to find the most efficient way of stacking cannonballs on ships of the British navy. Later, the problem was included in the 23 unsolved mathematical problems list.

Many famous scientists discussed its solution.

This year's prize laureates were the Korean-American mathematician Jun Hoo and scientists from France and Great Britain Hugo Duminil-Copen and James Maynard.

About scientist Maryna Viazovska

Maryna Viazovska was born in Kyiv in 1984.

She studied at the mechanical and mathematical department of Shevchenko Kyiv National University.

In 2007, she received a master's degree in Kaiserslautern, Germany, and in 2013, a doctorate in natural sciences at the University of Bonn.

Since 2017, she has been working at the Federal Polytechnic School of Lausanne.

In 2018, she received the position of professor and became the head of the number theory department.

Read Rubryka's daily timeline of war: current news on Ukraine's defense against russia's aggression.

If you have found a spelling error, please, notify us by selecting that text and pressing Ctrl+Enter.

Spelling error report

The following text will be sent to our editors: