16:59 05 Jun 2023

EU plans to extend agricultural import restrictions from Ukraine to five member states until September 15

The European Commission presented a draft of a new resolution banning the import of four agricultural products from Ukraine to five countries until September 15.

The Minister of Agriculture of Poland, Robert Telus, stated this.

"The date of entry into force provided for by the project is September 15 of this year. This is a project, but I hope it will come into force tomorrow," the Polish minister writes.

As a reminder, the European Commission has banned the import of wheat, corn, rapeseed, and sunflower of Ukrainian origin to Bulgaria, Hungary, Poland, Romania, and Slovakia since May 2. However, these agricultural products can be transported through their territory in transit.

The established restrictions shall remain in effect until June 5, 2023. The European Commission has stated that should the current Regulation on autonomous trade measures expire on the 5th of June, they are prepared to reestablish safeguards "for the duration of the extraordinary circumstance." The European Commission is also ready to start assessing the situation on the EU market for other "sensitive" products.

For reference:

Several countries have declared the destabilization of domestic agricultural markets due to agricultural products from Ukraine, which should have transited to third countries, but often remained inside the country through which the export took place.

Thus, Poland, Hungary, Bulgaria, and Slovakia have banned importing agricultural products from or imported from Ukraine into their territory. Romania decided to wait for the actions of the European Commission.

The European Commission called the unilateral actions of EU member states regarding trade unacceptable because trade policy is the exclusive competence of the EU.

Finally, on April 28, the European Commission reached a compromise with Bulgaria, Hungary, Poland, Romania, and Slovakia regarding the import of agricultural products from Ukraine.


If you have found a spelling error, please, notify us by selecting that text and pressing Ctrl+Enter.

Add comment

E-mail is already registered on the site. Please use the Login form or enter another.

You entered an incorrect username or password

Sorry, you must be logged in to post a comment.

Spelling error report

The following text will be sent to our editors: