10:49 04 Oct 2022

ICAO has finally expelled russia

Photo: Telegram/ Serhii Haidai

russia was not re-elected to the governing body and the Council of this organization during the 41st session of the Assembly of the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO).

This was announced by the Ukrainian Minister of Infrastructure, Oleksandr Kubrakov.

Such a collective decision of 170 ICAO member countries is a response to a full-scale invasion of Ukraine.

It should be noted that the exclusion of russia from the governing body of ICAO is also the result of a gross violation by the aggressor of the Chicago Convention, which establishes the basic requirements and regulations for international aviation.

"From the start of the full-scale invasion to today, the Ministry of Infrastructure continues to work on the complete infrastructural isolation of the russian federation.

A state that has carried out armed aggression against Ukraine and kills civilians has no place in the civilized world.

A state that steals other people's planes and orders the crew of the Buk missile complex to destroy a civilian plane has no place in the civilized world. Today's ICAO decision to exclude russia from the Council once again confirms this," the minister emphasized.

On June 15, 2022, russia received a significant flight safety observation as part of the ICAO surveillance program for dual registration of aircraft stolen from leasing companies.

It also applies to the execution of flights by the specified aircraft in international airspace without Airworthiness Certificates. This is an unacceptable violation of international requirements and standards and is extremely dangerous to people's lives and health.

Ukraine's head of state also reacted to this event.

"There will be no more representatives of the terrorist state in the governing body – the council of the International Civil Aviation Organization," the president said.


The International Civil Aviation Organization is a specialized UN agency that organizes and coordinates the international cooperation of states in all aspects of civil aviation.

About 190 countries are members of ISAO, including Ukraine.

The ISAO Council is a permanent governing body and consists of 36 countries elected by the Assembly for a three-year term.


If you have found a spelling error, please, notify us by selecting that text and pressing Ctrl+Enter.

Add comment

E-mail is already registered on the site. Please use the Login form or enter another.

You entered an incorrect username or password

Sorry, you must be logged in to post a comment.

Spelling error report

The following text will be sent to our editors: