14:53 01 Oct 2022

MFA: russia must immediately release ZNPP director general

The illegal detention by the invaders of Zaporizhzhia NPP Director General Ihor Murashov is another act of the state terrorism by Russia. Russia must immediately release the director general of the power plant.

This is said in a statement released by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Ukraine.

"MFA condemns in the strongest terms illegal detention of Director General of the Zaporizhzhia Nuclear Power Plant Ihor Murashov by the Russian occupants. This crime is yet another act of the state terrorism by Russia and it represents a grave violation of international law. Russia must immediately release the Director General of the ZNPP," the statement says.

The MFA calls on the international community, including the UN, the IAEA and the G7, to take decisive actions to this end.

"We emphasize, once again, the urgent need to mobilize international efforts with a view to demilitarize and de-occupy the ZNPP and return the facility under control of Ukraine as the only way to eliminate the current threats to nuclear security," the ministry said.

According to the statement, the Ukrainian side expects the increased pressure on the aggressor state in order to end shelling by the Russian occupants of the ZNPP and other civil nuclear facilities located on the territory of Ukraine as well as to prevent further abuse and repressions against the ZNPP personnel and their families.

As reported earlier, Petro Kotin, the head of Ukraine's state nuclear company Energoatom, said that on September 30, the Russian invaders detained Ihor Murashov, the director general of the Zaporizhzhia nuclear power plant.

If you have found a spelling error, please, notify us by selecting that text and pressing Ctrl+Enter.

Add comment

E-mail is already registered on the site. Please use the Login form or enter another.

You entered an incorrect username or password

Sorry, you must be logged in to post a comment.

Spelling error report

The following text will be sent to our editors: