09:55 18 Mar 2022

Australia, Japan, and New Zealand are imposing new sanctions on Russia

The governments of Australia, Japan, and New Zealand have imposed sanctions on Russian politicians, businessmen, and the defense and banking sectors.


11 banks (Sberbank, Gazprombank, VEB, VTB, Alfa-Bank, and others) and Russian government agencies, including the National Welfare Fund and the Ministry of Finance, are subject to restrictions.

New Zealand

Wellington's sanctions list is headed by Russian dictator Vladimir Putin and several people close to him:

  • Prime Minister Mikhail Mishustin;
  • Sergei Lavrov (MFA);
  • Sergei Shoigu (MD);
  • Vladimir Kolokoltsev (MIA).

It also included:

  • head of the FSB Aleksandr Bortnikov;
  • Speaker of the Federation Council Valentina Matvienko;
  • State Duma Speaker Vyacheslav Volodin;
  • head of AP Anton Vaino;
  • Secretary of the Security Council Nikolai Patrushev;
  • Deputy Chairman of the Security Council Dmitry Medvedev;
  • Director of the Foreign Intelligence Service Sergei Naryshkin.

New Zealand has also imposed travel restrictions on another 364 politicians, military personnel, and journalists.

Sanctions were imposed on 19 Russian organizations and companies, including Promzvyazobank (a wallet to finance Russian military operations abroad bypassing sanctions – ed.), JSC Uralvagonzavod Research and Production Corporation, 558 Aviation Repair Plant, and the company. Integral and JSC Concern PKO Almaz-Antey.


The Japanese government is imposing sanctions on 15 individuals and nine companies. In particular, regarding the spokeswoman of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs Maria Zakharova, the companies Rosoboronexport and Russian Helicopters.

If you have found a spelling error, please, notify us by selecting that text and pressing Ctrl+Enter.

Add comment

E-mail is already registered on the site. Please use the Login form or enter another.

You entered an incorrect username or password

Sorry, you must be logged in to post a comment.

Spelling error report

The following text will be sent to our editors: